Our Romance

Today, I had the nicest little romantic moment, and I was by myself, though Nick was certainly on my mind.

For the first time in several days, the sun was warm and bright, not a single cloud in the blue, blue sky. While many people paced crowded malls looking for perfect gifts before their “7 shopping days to Christmas” passed, I decided to take a long walk.

I have a playlist on iTunes called “Love.” Some of the songs are:

As I walked, the sun warmed my face. But what really made me smile, swell inside, was the sudden realization that the last time I’d taken a long walk with my “Love” playlist, I listened to the songs with a longing, wondering if I’d ever find that kind of love again.

But now, I love Nick and he loves me. That’s the best part of all–the love we share.

The other night, Nick and and talked about starting to establish some holiday traditions together. Traditions together. I smiled at the thought.

One of the traditions we started was to give each other a small gift each of the twelve days before Christmas. Nick has far outdone me with his naughty little gifts, but especially the cards he has hand-painted for me each day, along with a poem he’s written. Here is but one of the cards he painted with the enclosed sensual poem:

tree2Now, you light my life
with color, with imagination.
It flows as do the oranges and purples of autumn,
steadies as the blue ice
in early March, pulses with
the green wetness of a spring
storm and grounds like the
ochres and browns of late summer. You wrap me in
seasons of color and change
your hues, laugh with pinks,
dare me with grays, get all
serious in off-whites and then
bring me red with your kisses.
Color signifies life; you
give so much color. Color me, my
love.

Like the words Ella sings in “My Funny Valentine,” Nick makes me smile with my heart.

About Nick and Elise

It may turn away some readers to know that Nick and Elise are, shall we say, right smack dab in mid-life. But, it’s part of their story. Blessed with healthy sexual appetites that have not waned as they've aged, they also feel blessed to have found each other, after leaving sexless marriages. And now, having discovered in each other a playmate as well as a soul mate, they play. And they write about it. Some of what they write is real. Some of it is fantasy. Only Nick and Elise know the difference between the two.
This entry was posted in Love, Relationship and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

